Age of Consent

Via a public defender this is a neat concept map from My 5th in showing comparative age of consent laws.  I question its accuracy because in Maine for example the age of consent is 16 for (almost) all purposes, but can be as low as 14 as long as the partner is not more than 5 years older.  I am also intrigued by the Massachusetts data showing the age of consent being 18 for males and 16 for females.  Not only would this be a reversal of the usual bias in favor of female chastity but would strike me as having some significant constitutional issues.

The actual Maine statute is more cmplicated than laid out in the My 5th map and is as follows:

1. A person is guilty of sexual abuse of a minor if:

A. The person engages in a sexual act with another person, not the actor’s spouse, who is either 14 or 15 years of age and the actor is at least 5 years older than the other person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime;
A-1. The person violates paragraph A and the actor knows that the other person is related to the actor within the 2nd degree of consanguinity. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime;
A-2. The person violates paragraph A and the actor is at least 10 years older than the other person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime;
C. The person is at least 21 years of age and engages in a sexual act with another person, not the actor’s spouse, who is either 16 or 17 years of age and is a student enrolled in a private or public elementary, secondary or special education school, facility or institution and the actor is a teacher, employee or other official in the school district, school union, educational unit, school, facility or institution in which the student is enrolled. Violation of this paragraph is a Class E crime;
D. The person violates paragraph C and the actor knows that the student is related to the actor within the 2nd degree of consanguinity. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime;
E. The person violates paragraph C and the actor is at least 10 years older than the student. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime; or
F. The person intentionally subjects another person, not the actor’s spouse, who is either 14 or 15 years of age to any sexual contact and the actor is at least 10 years older than the other person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime.

Share and Enjoy

This entry was posted in News And Verdicts, Sex Crimes and Child Molestation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>